Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    DFMBA.org

Tips/tricks for SS sustained climbing?

I'm just getting into this, and rode this past weekend up some steep-ish, non-techie switchbacks. My body tells me when to stand and mash, versus sit n' spin, but I was wondering if there's some advice the experienced singlespeeders could chime in here. Are there any tips/tricks to steeper climbs, especially when you're in the thick of the climb and trying to keep from stalling out. What are your strategies for maintaining sustained climbs? Thanks.
    Please donate to IMBA or your local IMBA chapter. It's trail karma.

mtbr member
    Do everything you can to maintain momentum.

Don't back off...

SPP
    Rigid.

nothing to see here
    Like SPP says, momentum is the key. Keep it going from the bottom of the climb. Don't start slow and try to save yourself for the steepest parts. Deep breaths and recover as much as possible when it levels (if at all). Keep weight on rear tyre to avoid slipping. You can ride anything on a SS that a geared bike can, given the right gearing. Choose wisely.

Rinse and repeat.
    I see hills.

I want to climb them.

Gotta pay to play
    I wrote an post a few months about about Newton's 2nd law Force = Mass x Acceleration. Since we have no gears there is no way for us to slow down the bike. Therefore we can't really reduce Acceleration. This means we are stuck with a base amount of Force that we have to exert or the bike will stall out. Often times this Force we have to consistently exert to keep the bike from stalling is greater than the VO2 we can hold for the length of the climb. So when riding up a hill either one of three scenarios will happen:

1) You'll run out of oxygen (hit your VO2 Max limit) and have to get off the bike. In other words- your fitness couldn't keep up with the speed you were pedaling up the hill.