never ender

Steep switchback technique?

So I've been riding solely SS for the last 3 years now and consider myself a pretty strong rider. One thing that still gives me trouble though are steep, tight uphill switchbacks...it always feels like there's a point when my inside pedal gets to the bottom of its stroke, the bike seems to right itself, and I lose my line. For anybody that knows the Bay Area, I'm talking about a couple of spots at Tamarancho and certain...other...steep sidecut trails. Steep stuff.

Usually when my turning technique is just plain sloppy, I'll notice it more on one side than the other, and then I can break down the motions until I can do it the same on the weak side. But this seems to happen to me equally on both sides. The only thing that seems to work is to ratchet my pedal stroke so that I never get to the 6 o'clock position, but in some spots where I really have to chop the bars that doesn't work, and it takes a hell of a lot of effort. I'm okay with fudging a switchback now and again, they've never been one of my stronger points as a rider. But it bugs me that I haven't figured out what I could be doing better.

Bro
    Where I do my thinking
    I find that it's way easier to accelerate as much as possible in the straight parts, so that when you get to the turns you can relax and simply coast up the turn while giving all your attention to cleaning it. Ratcheting the pedals is something I'll usually do, especially if I need to keep stable at a low speed or something like that. I'm not the best at trackstands, so keeping the pedals moving even a bit helps with balance.

I'm in the Bay Area too. Pacifica hills are always fun going up.

And yes, if you're going fast enough you can coast anywhere, even uphill turns. Believe.
    I've made some bad decisions like taking the gears off my bike. So here's the warning: Do not as I say, nor as I do.

Ovaries on the Outside
    Um, sometimes on uphill and tight switchbacks, you might just be boned.