mtbr member
    Jun 2005

SS specific hubs

I have been riding a Niner One 9 for a few years with a Chris King SS specific rear hub. I have owned a bunch of CK stuff over the years and really appreciate the quick engagement for SS. I am selling my bike (and another full suss 29er) to build up a new SS. Right now I am leaning towards another Niner, the Air 9 carbon. I will be building the bike up to be SS with Chris King hubs, headset and bottom bracket but one of the things I like about the Air 9c is the ability to run the bike geared. I had a scandium Air 9 for years along with my One 9 and really liked having a geared hardtail. If I ever did run the new Air 9c geared it would be sometime in the future, the bike would be SS only to start. So my question is should I get a geared CK rear hub and use the spacers to run SS? I was kind of considering just building a whole new wheel for geared at some point if I wanted that option and keeping my SS set-up clean and SS specific.

Any thoughts or comments? I know building a new wheel is an unecessary expense so I don't need comments about how I should just run XT because it is bomber and cheap and.................. Thanks!
    "It's just that nobody likes Cornfish." francois

mtbr member
    With the Hope ss hub you can run up to six gears. Can you do that with the CK hub? If so that may be a pretty good cheap option if you don't need all 9 or 10 gears in a typical cassette.
    Signature

Low Rep Count
    If it was me I would use the SS hub right off the bat. If you decide that you want to go geared down the road, just pick up a used 29er rear wheel. You can buy em cheap on the bay or work on building up another set down the road.

Then again, this is coming from a guy that only has an SS.

fresh fish in stock...... SuperModerator
    you ride like an epileptic ape in full gran mal...so i'd go for zero dish (stronger) and build up a geared rear later...