Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

SS riding effects on geared riding

2K views 24 replies 23 participants last post by  hsakkire 
#1 ·
I have been doing the off-road SS thing for about 9 months, with some touches of 1x9.
When I used the 1x9, I found myself keeping it in a gear similar to the SS, especially when climbing. I preferred to stand for the majority of climbs. I only shifted when I was on the flats. Otherwise, I was stuck in one gear. Now both MTBs are in SS mode!!

Now, I find myself converting my "road" bike to a 2x1, because I have two front chainrings and I want to climb some hills, occasionally.

With nine months of SS, I feel like whatever spin I had is slowly going away, but now I feel that I have more power.

How has riding SS effected your geared riding? Or do you even ride geared anymore?

#2 ·
when i ride geared i find that I always have to tell myself to shift. I will be spinning away on the flats when I realize that i can actually shift to a harder gear. Then I find myself coming out of a corner in too hard of a gear, standing and mashing for awhile to get back up to my comfort spin and settle in again.

Off course after a little time on a geared bike i find myself reaching for my shifter on the SS whenever I need to speed up and catch someone. Muscle memory is a *****.

#5 ·
I have been doing the off-road SS thing for about 9 months, with some touches of 1x9.
When I used the 1x9, I found myself keeping it in a gear similar to the SS, especially when climbing. I preferred to stand for the majority of climbs. I only shifted when I was on the flats. Otherwise, I was stuck in one gear. Now both MTBs are in SS mode!!

Now, I find myself converting my "road" bike to a 2x1, because I have two front chainrings and I want to climb some hills, occasionally.

With nine months of SS, I feel like whatever spin I had is slowly going away, but now I feel that I have more power.