Thread: SS positioning

mtbr member

SS positioning

I'm new to single speeds and have noticed that the ss'ers i ride with have a much higher position on the bike, bars level with the seat or above, compared to the 3" drop on my gearie. Before I start ordering up stems, bars, cutting the steer tube, etc.. can any of you learned ss'ers fill me in on the basics of positioning?

Many thanks,

e

"Mr. Britannica"
    Quote Originally Posted by escamillo
    I'm new to single speeds and have noticed that the ss'ers i ride with have a much higher position on the bike, bars level with the seat or above, compared to the 3" drop on my gearie. Before I start ordering up stems, bars, cutting the steer tube, etc.. can any of you learned ss'ers fill me in on the basics of positioning?

Many thanks,

e

My position is the same on both SS and geared.

the cool nerd
    I agree, my position is the same on SS or geared (or at least pretty close)

scott

Cold. Blue. Steel.
    Quote Originally Posted by sportsman
    I agree, my position is the same on SS or geared (or at least pretty close)

scott
    Me three.
    one big difference (and this may factor into how you get set up) is the amount of standing on an SS. you certainly want plenty of room to move about the cockpit. of course, that is how i have always liked my geared bikes (and even my road bikes).
    Spinning and Grinning...

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by escamillo

Many thanks,

e
    I would find it hard to stand and crank if the bars were well below my seat.

Nat
    mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by OneGearGuy
    Me three.
    one big difference (and this may factor into how you get set up) is the amount of standing on an SS. you certainly want plenty of room to move about the cockpit. of course, that is how i have always liked my geared bikes (and even my road bikes).