Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    May 2010

SS Crankset Selection for Newbs.

I'm new to the SS game.

Picked up a Salsa El Mariachi SS, which I've been greatly enjoying. A bit o' weight reduction would be desirable, and yes, I'm looking at all of the standard options.

Once intriguing option is the crankset. My Salsa has an OEM Truvativ 32T SS crankset. It looks like a big 'ole boat anchor. I realize SS requires a sturdy crank...but I'm about 145#, and interested to drop some bike weight. I don't think I'm going to be challenging the strength of the crankset.

Standard GXP 73mm bottom bracket, english threaded.

What do I need to look for in a Crankset? Does it have to be SS Specific? If not, should I look for a double or triple? I'd like to run the 32T chainring and a bashguard (as I have now). What should I be in the market for?

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    I would be looking for a current or even two generations old xt crankset. They have 4 arm 104 bcd that work with just about any chainring size. You might need a different bb if you go shimano but they are really cheap

mtbr member
    May 2010
    Quote Originally Posted by cbrock450 View Post
    I would be looking for a current or even two generations old xt crankset. They have 4 arm 104 bcd that work with just about any chainring size. You might need a different bb if you go shimano but they are really cheap
    I'm looking for weight reductions...is XT the way to go?

Will both a double or a triple work?

mtbr member
    Most 2x cranksets can be run as single speed also.