mtbr member
    Apr 2010

SS conversion product list???

Hi, I have a 2007 gary fisher x-caliber I want to convert to a singlespeed. I have no experience with bike maintence or building, but want to try to do this on my own.

What all do I need to purchase? and where's a good place to purchase from? Looking for cheap, but durable components.

Thanks to all who reply, you're helping a lot.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    Well, you're gonna need a single speed kit (rear cog, spacers, chain, tensioner). Surly, Nashbar, Origin8 have some kits. Personally, I got single parts that I needed rather than the kit (just personal preference).

If you're planning on doing this yourself, you'll need a few tools. Cassette lockring socket and chain breaker are a must. A chain whip may be come in handy, but I used locking pliers b/c I didn't care if I destroyed my already ruined cassette.

I bought some of my stuff from Tree Fort Bikes. They suck...bunch of morons. Jenson may be more expensive, but you'll get it fast and right.

If you've never worked on a bike before, you might get frustrated, but it will pay off in the end.

Good luck dude
    Specialized HardRock SS converted
    Kona CoilAir: FOR SALE http://classifieds.mtbr.com/showprod...?product=48519

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by krizzo
    Hi, I have a 2007 gary fisher x-caliber I want to convert to a singlespeed. I have no experience with bike maintence or building, but want to try to do this on my own.

What all do I need to purchase? and where's a good place to purchase from? Looking for cheap, but durable components.

Thanks to all who reply, you're helping a lot.
    Go to Sheldon Browns site, it will have all the info you need. He sure helped me out on my single speeds.

LET'S GO RIDE BIKES!
    I did the SS conversion on my Rockhopper with parts from pricepoint.com Great customer service and they're close to me so shipping was overnight for the price of ground. Cambria Bicycle Outfitters is great as well.