mtbr member
    Dec 2011

Some SS newbie questions

Well, I have just joined the forum and am loving the information on here so far. I have been riding for about 10 years but always geared, 26er and with suspension. I have decided to go SS 29er and have some questions to get me started. Please forgive me if I sound ignorant... because I am
    First of all I weigh about 220lbs and am about 6ft2in, Im not HUGE but Im a pretty big boy. Is this going to matter when Im picking a frame to build from? I am not planning to go carbon because its just too expensive for me so either aluminum or steel will be my platform. I have been looking at the Niner frames, I like their new EBB but Im not totally sold on them yet.

My second question is about the fork. Due to money being short I am planning to go fully rigid since I can get a good fork for a couple hundred bucks vs. spending $500-$600 on a suspension fork. If I absolutely hate the fully rigid bike I can always save up for a suspension fork, but for now Im going fully rigid. Taking my size into consideration is there a fork that anyone would recommend? or will I be ok on any rigid fork (Im thinking about a carbon whites brothers)

Lastly, is my size going to mean that I have to buy big bulky wheels, since Im going fully rigid or will a lighter set work for me?

I know that there is a lot that goes into answering all of these questions but Im just trying to get an idea of what I need to be looking for once I start looking for parts. I really appreciate all of the help so far and am excited to be on the forum.

bigboy

mtbr member