mtbr member
    Feb 2005

Soma 4one5 - Anyone ride one?

Hi there,

I've been riding a Soma 4one5 for about 12 months now and cant speak highly enough of this bike.
    I first started with a rigid fork but have recently swapped it out for a new 80mm Sid.
    The Sid is a great fork and makes the bike so much smoother, particularly for my wrists.

Im interested to see what setup other riders have on their 4one5, mainly what length fork, stem setup and handlebar setup.

I ride a 17inch frame with a 0 degree stem and a flatbar, and have noticed that the bike tends to oversteer a wee bit and feel a bit nervous on the downhills.
    I think i will try a riser bar and see how much of a difference that makes, but im also interested to see what effect there would be from extending the Sid out to 100mm, which is relatively easy.

Does anyone have any feedback from running a 100mm fork on this frame?

Cheers for any help,
    Wil

mtbr member
    Feb 2005
    Just some quick pics for reference.

Cheers
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Sorry I can't help, but it sure looks good!

...abuse these forks.
    Try a shorter stem.
    Dont pinkbike my mtbr

mtbr member
    Jan 2008
    well the longer travel for will rake your head angle out a bit but not really enough to make a huge difference. plus most hardtails are designed around 80mil or no suspension up front so u dont wanna get to crazy with it.... but go with the riser bar and probably also a shorter stem like dirtydownhill said. you want to be able to get your arse behind the seat comfortably downhill ie a shorter stem. and the riser bar will sort of slow down your steering... hope it helps

Live, Freeze, and Ride
    I've got a 100mm fork on mine and love it.
    I ride the same size frame with a 100mm stem and Monkeylite riser bars. It gives me a happy medium between XC race position and a more upright position.
    I can manual easily with this set-up.
    Inbred 29er Dinglespeed