mtbr member
    Jan 2012

single speed as first mountain bike?

I've been riding a road bike now for about 9 months now, and I'm hooked. I've taken it on some gravel roads and it's done ok, but I'm wanting something I can take on rougher dirt roads, easier single track, etc. I've ridden a few geared mountain bikes, but I'm kind of intrigued with the simplicity and value of a single speed. My goals are to enjoy being out on a bike, fitness, and fun. I also like the idea of being able to change tires, put on some fenders and have a bike to take camping, to the beach, greenways, etc. I plan to go on my next day off and ride a couple, specifically the Kona Unit and Trek/Fisher Marlin single speed. My question is: Am I setting myself up to be frustrated? Am I letting my somewhat romantic notion of "Man and machine" cloud my judgement? Am I better off starting out with a "Regular," mountain bike? For what it's worth, I'm 50, 5'11", 165, in fairly good shape.

mtbr member
    Getting a singlespeed as your first mountain bike is a great idea, its lots of fun and you don't have to worry about making mistakes like shifting into the wrong gear on a hill and breaking something in your drivetrain. All you have to do is pedal harder when you get to a hill! Why do you think lots of children's bikes are singlespeed?! Simplicity, so there is less of a learning curve. All you have to really concentrate on is the trail instead of what gear would be best...

hope that helps
    Buy a f-ing bike maybe you wouldn't be fat

Apr 2007
    Go for it. You may end up going SS for your roadie as well.

mtbr member
    + rep for even mentioning it !
    You became weak loafing around in that big girly gear! -Soares

Birthday Collector