Thread: Shoes for SS.

cowbell

Shoes for SS.

I realize that shoes (and we're talking clipless here) aren't exactly SS specific. However, I recognize that I've had more issues with my current shoes on my SS than my road bike or my geared FS bike. So here goes.

I've been rocking a set of Shimano MT31's for about 5 years. I've probably ridden about 5K miles in them. Remember, I'm using the same shoes for my road bike as well. There's a reason I've used these Shimano lace up style shoes for my last two pairs of shoes - they're generally available for well under the $100 mark, and they actually fit me. Every time I've tried on a pair of shoes that looks very high tech and has all the straps and so forth securing them, they've been too tight across the joint on my big toe. I've considered not carrying my joint in my shoes, but...oh wait. Seriously though...

So here's the meat of the question. Are there specific features that anyone prefers in a shoe for SS? A stiff sole is clearly advantageous, but what about padding? What about cleat positioning? Do certain models of shoes possess some specific advantage? Another thing I like about the lace up shoes is they use...well, laces, which you can buy anywhere, but if you break a strap on the other shoes, you may not even be able to order the part.

So I'm open to suggestions. Again, I'll be sticking wit SPD's (I have no desire to replace the pedals on 4 bikes) would prefer a lace up shoe, and it needs a fairly wide toe box, but I would consider other styles of shoe IF the toe box is wide enough.

Go...

mtbr member
    I don't think there is anything that qualifies a shoe as being SS specific, my SS rides are pretty much the same as XC but with only one gear. I guess one difference might be that depending on the terrain you might have to walk more hills and for that a more flexible sole is much better.