Retro Grouch

Rear Brakes; Where Less is More

I think Campagnolo got it right; they have a double pivot brake up front and a single pivot brake at the rear. Why? Because you just don't need that much braking power at the rear wheel. Recently, I built up a SASS with a disc brake up front and a side pull cantilever at the rear, to use a fixed/free flip/flop rear hub. Yesterday was the first time I used the freewheel side and I found myself not wanting any more rear braking power than the cheap old BMX brake I was using. OTOH, I have an old Bontrager, surgically converted to SS, with the original Suntour 3 finger brake levers and DiaComp cantilever brakes. Keith Bontrager once said that V Brakes were not necessary, except for dual suspension, as a properly set up cantilever brake has the same stopping power; to this I say BS. I have been riding mountain bikes for over 20 years, and I know how to set up canti's, and I will tell you they are not simply not as powerful as V brakes; there is a reason why canti brake levers have room for 3-4 fingers and V Brakes have room for only 2. However, after saying all that, even a canti is enough for a rear brake.

Finally, I have a another single speed (I know, I know) with disc brakes front and back. The original setup was 160 rotors front and back, and I noticed I had to feather the rear brake to stop it from locking up. I then switched the front to a 180 and the rear calmed down considerably. I amazes me therefore when I see some down hill bike with 108-200+ rotors on the back wheel; what were they thinking?
    Just one more rep and I get the toaster!

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by aka brad
    I amazes me therefore when I see some down hill bike with 108-200+ rotors on the back wheel; what were they thinking?