Category Winner

Question for those that use half links

I did a search and came up with nothing.

My next bike will have sliders. I realize I can mess with chain stay length (to some extent) using a half link. I use PC-1 chains, and what I'm wondering is if there's any harm to putting the half link in right at the end of the chain and having it directly connect to the PC-1 master link?

I had a friend with a PC-1 that he half linked at the master link (I think), and he had a chain break, but I never verified where it broke.

Those who want to condemn me for my choice in chains can go ahead and do so. I've been running them for eight or nine years at work and on the trail, and I haven't broken one yet (I did bust a roller, but that wasn't a failure so I won't count it).
    WWW.TEAMDICKY.COM

I get paid 3¢ every time I post on MTBR.

Got Mojo?
    I ran a half link for several months. The chain did break, and it did break at the Half-Link.

Unfortunately it was during a race, fortunately it was less than 1/2 mile from the finish. (it is very difficult to repair a half link trailside)

I had the halflink in the middle of the chain.
    aLaN AT BikeMojo DOT com

Linoleum Knife
    Dunno about the PC1, but on an 8 speed chain the half-links did not work well with the master link. I had to break the chain in the middle, install the half-link, and then use the 8speed master link at the other break.

No problems since installation, but that was only about 100 miles of racing.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    The one time I did run a half link I tried it next to the master link. The chain didn't run right. It made a noise on every rotation. I moved it over a few links and everything was fine. The chain was a KMC K710SL. If it works for you, go for it. Check it out though. I know you're a light rider and if you have been happy with the POS PC-1 you'll be fine probably be fine with a half-link.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by teamdicky