Transition Blindside v5

New question here. Q?: chainline measurement (front vs rear) - how close is sufficient?

Hi all,

(I'm a SS newbie, and have read the FAQ & Sheldon, and did a search on "chainline" (back to late-'09). Not wanting to hijack somebody else's "sorta-close" posts with my question, I'm starting a new post.)

So, this used SS-converted "budget" bike (for DJ) that I just picked up has a 73mm/shell x 113mm/spindle BB for 48.5mm chainline (on paper) up front, and I also measured it with a ruler myself (per Sheldon) to see that it's just about that (or maybe 47.5mm-ish). It has a 175mm-arm Truvativ triple-ring crankset (which I'd like to replace), and a 32T ring mounted on "inside" of the spider.

On the rear, I also measured the chainline with a ruler and did the math (per Sheldon), and it's about 45mm~45.5mm ( = 135mm/2 - 22mm-ish). Rear wheel has Sette (Pricepoint) SS Conversion Kit, with its 18mm spacer inboard, then 18T cog, then 16mm spacer outboard (w/ regular QR-135mm vertical dropouts).

So, I got a 2mm~3.5mm difference. How close do I have to get it all aligned? Exactly, or what's "sufficient" (eg. "within 2mm", etc.)?

I suppose I can either use spacers to bring in the 32T chairing up front, or... On the rear, since Sette kit only has 2 big spacers (not many choices), should I replace it with Performance kit (which has many thin spacers for more cog-location options)?

Thanks for your feedback in advance,
    - PiroChu

mtbr member
    Jun 2006
    I don't bother measuring. I'll just put the chain on, and then eye it from the rear. If the chain is straight, it's good enough. Using that method I haven't had any dropped chain (and I used a multispeed chainring for a long while) or any skips, and my chain life is great.

meatier showers
    Quote Originally Posted by bad mechanic