mtbr member

Paging Shiggy: Midge advice needed

I'm looking to put a Midge on my forthcoming commuter but I'm not sure what size stem to buy or how many spacers to use. How should I go about setting it up so that I maintain the same general geometry I would have with a 120mm stem and riser bar? I'm new to the whole dirt-drop thing.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator
    Can not be much help with specific dimensions.

Start by using 40-degree stems. Your LBS should have a bunch of "cheap" ones (whiich work just fine). Ask them to let you test fit several to get in the fit range you like. Then buy the two that are the closest.

On my stock frames I used a 110-120 x 40 degree stem with 15-20 mm of spacers. Still put my hands ~4" below the saddle (where I like it).
    mtbtires.com
    The trouble with common sense is it is no longer common

mtbr member
    Thanks, I figured it would involve some trial and error work.

Not because I'm fast.....
    Quote Originally Posted by AteMrYeats
    I'm looking to put a Midge on my forthcoming commuter but I'm not sure what size stem to buy or how many spacers to use. How should I go about setting it up so that I maintain the same general geometry I would have with a 120mm stem and riser bar? I'm new to the whole dirt-drop thing.
    Here is a great post by Flexiflyer (Matt Chester) describing drop bar/stem set up that might help you out. I copied it into this thread for you. Good luck!

You've got them...the devil is in the details though. The key to setting up drops for the rough and/or for distance is getting them high enough while maintaining an adequate cockpit for seated climbing and breathing. Bars alone are not a solution to your quandry, some other fundamentals need tweaking.

Through lots of riding and trial and error, you've probably come to a setup that's "pretty good" - but not great. So take that experience and build on it with these steps:

1) Keep the Midge.