mtbr member
    Mar 2012

Noob's 1st singlespeed/bike build

Hello all, this is my first real meaningful post. I've been a long-time lurker, and recently joined to lurk some more, and now I'm looking forward to being a part of the community.

I am beginning to undertake my first bike build, and hoping to really learn a lot and love my bike even more as a result. My everyday ride is a Giant XTC1 26er, having recently replaced the Trek 820 which will be the center of this thread.

First a little about me, I'm a pharmacy student (so I have basically ZERO funds), and I first got into mountain biking when i was about 14 through my bro-in-law and other friends. The Giant was really my first big bike purchase, even if it was used and not that expensive. Now that I have a bike which can reliably get me around the trails for a while, I figure it's time to build a back-up and loaner bike, and learn a lot more about my bikes.

When I looked at bikes, SS hardtail 29ers kept popping up as my main focus, but here in WV we have some hills, and I didn't want to go all-out on a SS. Most of these bikes were steel framed, and in my revelation, I already have a steel HT, albeit a 26er.

So, here's my plan:
    Very, very, very low budget SS, and (I'm sure this will bring flaming) I'm building this bike solely off the image I've seen in my head. (the image in my head is of a much cheaper Kona Honzo, but with smaller wheels, low-end components and a much higher smiles/miles ratio and a lower bottom line)

Frame- Trek 820
    Wheels- Stock at first, switching out later as funds allow
    Crankset- I currently have an old Deore XT crankset, so I hope to use it's middle ring
    Saddle,Bars,Stem - Cutter MTB saddle and lock-on grips, Ritchy comp stem 120mm, Sunline V1 flat bars
    Brakes- Stock V at first, then a cheap disk set as $ allows
    Fork - Probably going to end up with an XC32. Finding a decent super-cheap fork with lock-out and v-brake posts is difficult.