mtbr member

Newbie Needs Cog Advice

I've been riding my new Redline Monocog 29er for about a month now and have decided the stock 32-20 gearing, while good for trail riding, is just too tiresome for commuting. Accordingly, I'm thinking of switching down to a rear 16 (or maybe 18?). I'm new to SS mtbiking, and have only done limited mtbiking in the past. The trails I ride have a few dips and slopes--small hills but definitely no mountains.

Any advice on choosing the appropriate sized cog? I suppose this is just something that I need to figure out myself through experience using a variety of settings.

Secondly, how difficult is it to change the cog? Is it necessary that I purchase a chain whip and cog removal tool? Will I need to shorten my chain length? Do most folks switch up their cogs depending on the type of riding they will be doing? This is all new to me and I want to make sure I do it right before I dive in.

--thanks

aka baycat
    Buy a few fairly inexpensive Surly cogs until you find the right combination.

Ovaries on the Outside
    If you are switching out cogs often (and it doesn't take long) you'll want the tools. I use an eight speed cassette body with spacers, so I don't know which tools you'll need. Use Sheldon Brown for a better feel for a gear inch range (I'm pulling for the 18 tooth). You might need a chain tool, depending on how much movement the change in cog size moves the wheel, as well as readjusting the brakes. Once you find the combo that works best on the trails, I just buy a beater to commute with- it is annoying to change from cog to cog and all the adjustments that go with it, and pavement ruins trail tires too fast in any case.

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    Actually, I would buy some of the really inexpensive Redline cogs, 5 bucks a pop. 32:16 is a good gear. But, as your said, it's all about trying it out. And, ya, you'll need the tools. Good luck.

Ovaries on the Outside