Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: my plans

get down!

my plans

I'm building an SS bike... well not exactly.

I plan on purchasing a redline monocog flight by the end of the month - rigid ss.

pic for reference:

my plans for it include (to be upgraded piece by piece as I get money)
    - king headset
    - shorter, better stem
    - front susp. fork; I'm a college student without too much money... so I'll be looking at a RS pilot sl or something similar - unless I can find a fox or race quality RS/manitou/marz etc on ebay or get a good deal.
    - easton cf riser bars
    - easton cf seatpost
    - mech. disc brakes (hmx-1's?)
    - cogset f/r
    - lastly the crank and hubs/rims

I am asking for input on this idea... this is what I've been forming over the last month or so. I used to ride bmx and I know that redline makes excellent frames... for this price it's a great deal. I'm hoping in the end the bike will weigh in at around 25 lbs.

get down!
    bump for advice!

mtbr member
    Mar 2005

get a kona fork

Quote Originally Posted by cjh_mtb

I plan on purchasing a redline monocog flight by the end of the month - rigid ss.

pic for reference:

- king headset
    - shorter, better stem
    - front susp. fork; I'm a college student without too much money... so I'll be looking at a RS pilot sl or something similar - unless I can find a fox or race quality RS/manitou/marz etc on ebay or get a good deal.
    - easton cf riser bars
    - easton cf seatpost
    - cogset f/r

I am asking for input on this idea... this is what I've been forming over the last month or so. I used to ride bmx and I know that redline makes excellent frames... for this price it's a great deal. I'm hoping in the end the bike will weigh in at around 25 lbs.
    I suggest getting a kona rigid fork and AVID mecanicial brakes. The stock fork is Also aluminum, the Kona is steel and fairly light, also about 25mm shorter, so the handling is quicker.