mtbr member

MTB newb, start out SS?

Sorry to create a new thread as my first post, and I did search first.

I'm a big time newb when it comes to mountain biking, I haven't ridden a bike in almost 15 years and that was before I got my first car... so yeah.

I really want to get into mountain biking and plan to buy my first bike here very soon. I'm all but set on the 29er. The super basic minimalistic approach of the singlespeed full rigid is really appealing.

I live in the Phoenix area, so we have a lot of trails to choose from but not exactly sure what kind of terrain I'd be covering. I imagine mostly flat with some occasional steep technical portions?

At any rate, would you SS veterans recommend going SS for a complete newb or would you push to start off with a more "modern" (and I use quotes as to not offend) approach like say a Trek Mamba 29er?

I appreciate your feedback and look forward to getting into the sport and joining the online community here.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010

Re: MTB newb, start out SS?

I started biking about 6 months ago, 1st bike was a cheap, steel 29er, rigid singlespeed. I still ride it and love it.
    The simplicity is great, and I felt it helped me build strength quickly. Riding it kicked my butt for the first month or two, but if you ride regularly the strength will come.
    I just ordered me a carve sl 29er, so i am upgrading my bike, but still sticking with the rigid single!

Sent from my C771 using Tapatalk 2

Sleek Jamis Exile Rider

MTB newb, start out SS?

I've been on a single speed for a few years now. I started out on a cheap geared bike. After a few months I realized that I hated worrying about shifting gears, wondering if I was in the right gear, etc. so I just found a gear i was comfortable with and never shifted from there. I then found my current bike and haven't missed shifting

mtbr member