mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Most common chainline - 47.5mm or 52mm?

I am trying to decide between White Industries hubs and Paul Components hubs for a new wheelset build. The WI ENO chainline is 47.5mm, while the Paul WORD chainline is 52mm.

From measuring my bikes, it seems the WI lines up with the middle ring of a mountain triple, while the Paul lines up with the outer ring. Intuitively, it seems to me that most cranks I see have their single ring attached right to the spider, so it appears to me that the outer ring would be more common. Does that imply that the WI hubs are intended to be used only with bashguards, or am I missing something?

Can I safely assume that the Paul 52mm chainline fits most popular SS cranksets? Sorry if this is trivial, but I am new to all of this, and googling never explained why WI chose 47.5.

Nouveau Retrogrouch SuperModerator

Most common chainline - 47.5mm or 52mm?

Quote Originally Posted by TooSteep View Post
    I am trying to decide between White Industries hubs and Paul Components hubs for a new wheelset build. The WI ENO chainline is 47.5mm, while the Paul WORD chainline is 52mm.

From measuring my bikes, it seems the WI lines up with the middle ring of a mountain triple, while the Paul lines up with the outer ring. Intuitively, it seems to me that most cranks I see have their single ring attached right to the spider, so it appears to me that the outer ring would be more common. Does that imply that the WI hubs are intended to be used only with bashguards, or am I missing something?

Can I safely assume that the Paul 52mm chainline fits most popular SS cranksets? Sorry if this is trivial, but I am new to all of this, and googling never explained why WI chose 47.5.
    Basically you have it right.
    You can mount the ring in either position on most any "singlespeed" crank.