Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Oct 2004

Making a wide base rear cog

Let me just start off by saying yes, I am a cheap SOB. Now lets get down to business.

Has anyone tried riveting or otherwise attaching smaller cogs on either side of a Shimano BMX cog to widen it? This is to prevent it from digging into the freehub body. Yes, I could just drop $30 on a King cog every other month, or I could just drop $5 on a new BMX cog. I am basing this on how fast I go through cassettes, since I am new to SSing.

I figured I could just grind down the teeth on a old cassette cog or even new BMX ones until I had say 1/2" tall rings. I could then just rivet or bond these on either side.

Ted

CEO Product Failure
    Quote Originally Posted by tedsti
    Yes, I could just drop $30 on a King cog every other month, or I could just drop $5 on a new BMX cog. I am basing this on how fast I go through cassettes, since I am new to SSing.
    I've yet to have to chain my cog on my SS and I rode it 500+ mi's this year. I don't think SS drive trains wear as fast as geared drive trains.

One gear to rule them all
    You can afford an alloy freehub body, but you can't afford wide base cogs???
    If you are using a steel freehub body, you don't need a wide base cog.

Let me just start off by saying yes, I am a cheap SOB. Now lets get down to business.

Has anyone tried riveting or otherwise attaching smaller cogs on either side of a Shimano BMX cog to widen it? This is to prevent it from digging into the freehub body. Yes, I could just drop $30 on a King cog every other month, or I could just drop $5 on a new BMX cog. I am basing this on how fast I go through cassettes, since I am new to SSing.

I figured I could just grind down the teeth on a old cassette cog or even new BMX ones until I had say 1/2" tall rings. I could then just rivet or bond these on either side.

Ted
    Todd............. If you can't be kind, at least have the decency to be vague

Recovering Weight Weenie