mtbr member
    Feb 2009

... and if we just ... Lookin into new bike.. Need opinins

Hey guys, im new to mtbr. Been reading lots of forums about stuff i really like this site Ive been riding for years. I have an older (98 or 99) Cannondale F500 8 speed. I converted it to single speed for a while but went back to gears. I want a single speed again i miss the simplicity. Im always adjusting things on my geared beast. Im lookin into buyin a new Gary Fisher Rig with my tax money. Anybody have opinions or know of anyone who has a Rig? I would appreciate the help thanks

mtbr member
    Mar 2008
    i don't know anyone that has one or has ridden one but i really like gary fisher bikes and if i was going to buy a new SS then i would buy a rig. looks like a great bike

mtbr member
    Jul 2007
    Not a direct answer to your question but here's my .02:
    I'm a huge fan of my Vassago.
    I have a Specialized Stumpy hardtail, an intense 5.5 and my Vassgo is my favorite to ride.....I recently went 2 months not riding it and hoped on it and it fit like a glove.

I alsolike to pick the individual parts to hang on a frame....not always the least expensive option but I have only a few brands I really like for various reasons so I always buy framesets and build them exactly how I like them.

Definitely ride b/f buy!

mtbr member
    Feb 2009
    I appreciate the advice. I definately wanna go single speed and a 29er ive heard nothing but good things about them Now all i gotta do is figure out if i want a regular platform pedal or clip in style

SSolo
    Apr 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by lostsurf1981
    I appreciate the advice. I definitely wanna go single speed and a 29er ive heard nothing but good things about them Now all i gotta do is figure out if i want a regular platform pedal or clip in style