banned

I'm in a conundrum.....help

To start with I must admit that I thought that single speed bikes were the dumbest thing ever for most of the last decade. I started riding single speed to get myself ready for a San Juan Huts trip that I am doing in september. I was gonna force myself to ride it until right before I left so that I would get even stronger. Now the problem is, I don't really want to go back to gears. I am riding faster than I ever have before (been rmountain biking for almost 19 years), climbing stuff that I couldn't on a geared bike, and having a hell of a lot more fun. The question that I am throwing out is, will I completely suffer horribly at that altitude if I go out there singlespeed? I know some of you have toured at altitude but I don't see a lot of singlespeeds. The trails in Pisgah are by no means flat but what concerns me is extended climbs at that altitude. Give me some feedback or thoughts.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    yes(no)

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    If you are not acclimated to altitude (meaning: trained at altitude not more than 2-4 weeks ago) you will suffer a performance hit when riding. Usually from sea level to 5000 feet is the first noticeable increase in perceived effort and available O2. From 5000 feet to 7500 feet is the next plateau, and then from 7500 feet to 9000 feet, and then anything over 10,000 is just plain hard even if you have been training at 9000 feet consistently.

I don't see how singlespeed vs gears enters into this equation. If you are a hard rider, and push big gears, you will go anaerobic that much faster at altitude. This is usually not sustainable for touring. If you adopt a slower, more sustainable aerobic pace, the tour is certainly possible for you.