Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

I think I'm through being single.

7K views 107 replies 53 participants last post by  MellowCat 
#1 · (Edited)
It's been fun. It's been real. But single speeding has become too trendy for my taste.
The whole reason I started riding SS was to be doing something different. I built up my SS from scratch and it was once something to be proud of. Fancy boy store bought single speeds like the Gary Fischer RIG are putting my pride and joy to shame. Almost everyone in my neck of the woods has one, even if its not their main ride. And there deffinately isnt a "ooooh a single speed!" factor anymore. No more challenge of trying to keep up with the gearies on group rides, because everyone is on a freaking SS.

In my opinoin, it's just not cool anymore. After three years of riding single, I am starting to hold single speeds in the same regard as I do the yellow Armstrong wrist bands.

Flame on.

#2 ·
Hmmmm...

Maybe you started riding SS for the wrong reasons. I started riding SS about 13 years ago for the simplicity and to recharge my riding (and a way to revive an old race bike)... Being different was just a bonus, something that came with it but not the primary reason. I'll probably still be riding my beat up conversion SS 10 years from now (if my knees allow it) while everyone has gone back to riding bikes with 30 gears...
Just my $.02

#3 ·
Well, if you were just doing it to look cool or be different, then you probably weren't really enjoying it anyway. It seems every once in a while a single speeder renounces the concept, just because too many people are doing it now. I think that's silly. Single speeding grew in popularity for many reasons, not just because it was considered cool. Besides, there'll always be gearies to keep up with on rides, if that's your thing. But, if you insist you need to be different from the masses in order to enjoy your time, I think a mountain unicycle is in your future.

#11 ·
wow...you mean