Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    mtbr member

I have seen the light... Vassago convert

Since I started riding mountain bikes a few years ago, I naturally just "clicked" with single speeding. I think it had something to do with all those years of BMX, gears and suspension just seemed overly complicated to me. I went through a handful of bikes in the few years I have been back in the saddle: starting with a Cannondale Trail (first bike back in the game) then moved onto a Spesh Fatboy that I converted to SS with a Wheels EBB. Last season I bought a Trek Stache and while I hated the extremely short chainstays, I fell madly in love with 29+. I also built a second bike last winter, an On One Inbred that I ran fixed gear for the season just for the hell of it. I knew almost immediately that I would probably never ride a non-steel frame again.

So at the end of last season I decided that it was time to build something I wanted to ride for more than one season. Something that could linger in my stable for years to come. Enter the new Jabberwocky... It's literally everything I was looking for: steel with a reputation for having amazing ride qualities, 44mm headtube, 29x3 tire fit, sliding dropouts, and a geo that allows for climbing and descending (this is important with all of our punchy climbs/downs around here). I pulled the trigger as soon as they hit the Vassago site.

What turned into a late fall/early winter addiction of strategically picking every part culminated into what is, by far, the most radical bike I have ever owned. I can honestly say that I am madly in love.

The real point of this thread though, is that a lot of people come on here interested in steel frames, frames that are versatile, or just looking for a quality starting point for a single speed build. I HIGHLY recommend Vassago. This new Jabberwocky frame ticks all of the boxes for me. It is:

*Extremely versatile
    *Affordable
    *Rides amazing, this is the epitome of a steel frame