mtbr member
    Oct 2008

How long do you ride?

I just started riding SS a week ago. It's been tough and rewarding. Currently I'm averaging about an hour before I am completely spent. On my FS I generally would ride 2-3 hours. I understand there is a learning curve, but I'm wondering how long it will take before I can ride for a longer duration. I really want to ride with my friends again, but there is no way I could hang. Any thoughts?

mtbr member
    Generally about 2 hours for my max. Most rides are an hour to hour and a half. I ride alone 99% of the time so honestly, boredom gets me before fatigue.

mtbr member
    Hang in there.....It takes time for your body to adapt to the "stand and hammer" single speed riding style. It will get easier, just keep doing it....I've been doing the SS thing for about two years, I have to now stop and wait for my geared riding buddies (usually) after I charge up the hill now. My longest ride at this point....(Last Sunday) over mixed terrain was 39 miles, with about 4 hours of riding time.

I ride a steel framed bike with a carbon fork, bar and seatpost which helps ward off the fatigue during a long ride also....... Civilian Luditte SS, 23.5 lbs, 32/18 gearing.

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    My longest ride thus far was around 33 miles and took just over 3 hours. I really had a blast and didn't even feel all that tired afterwards, though the ride back (I like to bike to the trail) was a bit of a pain with one speed.

Funny thing, this was longer than I've gone on my road bike thus far.

local trails rider
    I'm sure it depends on the terrain.
    Another thing is that too tall gearing can wear you out quickly. Maybe you could try lower gearing, at least for a while.

My usual rides are 2-3 hours, up and down small hills, with a mix of easy and somewhat rocky sections.

"it IS possible that you are faster or slower than anybody else who is having at least as much if not more or less fun"

mtbr member