mtbr member

How long before I declare shenanigans on an eBay seller?

The topic in itself isn't SS, but the parts I bought are for a SS I'm working on.

I'm a ebay novice with 2 successful purchases thus far. June 30 I won an auction for some cantilever brakes in Illinois, I'm in the Detroit area. July 7 no merchandise had arrived so I send a very polite email requesting the status of the items I won; no response. July 8 I email through the eBay site ("ask seller a question") just in case his paypal info may be incorrect and still no response. Like I said, the merchandise is in IL and I'm ~5 hrs. away, it shouldn't take over a week to ship (despite the holiday). The seller has an excellent rating; 350+ positive reviews, 1 mediocre review.

Is there a "grace period" that I should observe before getting nasty? After 11 days of not getting what I paid for (promptly mind you, within 3 hrs. of the auction ending) and no communication, I'm getting a little antsy and wondering if I need to be contacting ebay, paypal and my CC company. Fortunately it's only for $25.

If anyone has any advise or rules of thumb I should follow, I'm all ears! Thanks!

mtbr member
    Feb 2004

Simma

Quote Originally Posted by zanq
    The topic in itself isn't SS, but the parts I bought are for a SS I'm working on.

I'm a ebay novice with 2 successful purchases thus far. June 30 I won an auction for some cantilever brakes in Illinois, I'm in the Detroit area. July 7 no merchandise had arrived so I send a very polite email requesting the status of the items I won; no response. July 8 I email through the eBay site ("ask seller a question") just in case his paypal info may be incorrect and still no response. Like I said, the merchandise is in IL and I'm ~5 hrs. away, it shouldn't take over a week to ship (despite the holiday). The seller has an excellent rating; 350+ positive reviews, 1 mediocre review.