I know nothing
    Jan 2009

Help me convert my (road bike) Cannondale to SS

I bought this bike in 96 and have done maybe 1000 kms on it. I sort of got tired of road training and started mtb-ing more instead, at that time.
    Two weeks ago I started riding my new Inbred, one gear only. It's my first SS and I totally love it. So I thought I'd give the Cannondale a new chance by making it a SS. It was a pretty expensive bike so it might be worth the effort. It has a Mavic crank, Mavic hubs, Mavic brakes, Mavic ceramic coated rims and a Cannondale carbon fork. I don't know what the frame model is called, but it was the 2nd gen 2.8 tubing. What that means is that a size 54 or 56 frame weighed only 2.8 lbs. At least thats how I remember it.

Any thoughts on the conversion?
    Anyone done it?

My thoughts:
    I want to change as few parts as possible. I will use the bike to work (30 kms a day) in the summer as well as for the occasional Sunday trip.

I think I need a new chainring, sized somewhere in between the two mounted now. What is a good gear for someone in good shape but who is no racer?

Where can I buy a set of spacers and a cog that fits the Mavic hub? It's Shimano compatible so it should be easy, but who has these parts and what are they called?

I'd like to avoid a chain tensioner, simply because it will look better without one. What are my options there? excentric BB the only way to go?

I cant tell what type BB the bike has. Is it possible judging from my pics?

The gear mechs are easy to just take off. Same with gear cables. Brake handles will have to be changed, I guess. They are made for gear changing as well and I want simpler stuff.

Thanks
    Onkel
    Attached Images Attached Images

I know nothing
    Jan 2009

A few more pics

By the way, does anyone know how to get posted pictures to appear IN the post instead of after the post. You know, mix words and pics. I don't get it.
    Attached Images Attached Images

mtbr member
    Aug 2007