Thread: Headset help

mtbr member
    Dec 2012

Headset help

Hello all,

I am a new single speeder as of this Spring. Actually, I just started riding this year. I picked up a trek rig this spring. I am getting some slop up front and I think I need a new headset. I have a fox 29r fork, series 32 I think. I have no clue what to order. Can I get a little help?

Thanks,
    TJ

mtbr member
    I think you need to adjust and tighten your headset before you jump into replacing it.

Bro Mountainbiker
    loosen the 2 bolts on your stem, tighten the one bolt on your top cap until there is no play. Grab the front brake and rock the bike back and forth to feel for play.

Once you adjust preload (Tighten top cap bolt), retighten your 2 stem bolts.
    Raised in a Chicken-Coop by Chickens

If you don't have tools, just take it back to your shop to have them fix it. Pretty easy to do, though.

Threadless Headset Adjustment - YouTube

mtbr member
    Dec 2012
    Thanks for the suggestion. However, I have done the above mentioned procedure a couple of times. If I torque it down anymore, the headset will act like a steering damper! I think the bearings are shot as the fork rocks back and forth with all my efforts to tighten, Suggestions on a brand?

Also, I am building some wheels this winter as my stockers have been abused and mistreated. I have settled on the hope pro 2 ss rear and front hubs. I think I am going with the stans flow 29r rims. This may be a silly questions but do i build a 36 spoke or 32 spoke wheels? I am not building them just buying.

I am 6'3 200lbs 35 inseam, no downhill, just xc and trial racing and riding.

Thanks

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by KTMwoodsrider View Post