Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Sep 2010

GT Arrowhead to single speed

Hi

This is my first 'complete' project. I have a fixed wheel bike which I built using a prepared track frame and I love riding it, but you guys (and others) seem to have great fun on SS MTB's!

When this GT Arrowhead frame appeared on eBay I bought it. 99p is all I paid but as you can see, it was not in a good way. The bottom bracket had seized both in the shell as well as the bearings, I am guessing this may of been the reason for the previous owner dumping the frame (I bought it from a scrap dealer)

I am a computer programmer by trade and have never really got my hands dirty before. I love riding but want something unique as well as single speed. The triple triangle of the GT frame fits the bill nicely. My garage has space but limited tools. This should be an interesting project.

I know I am going to need advice and this forum looks like the best place to find it. Along the way I will be learning new stuff which I am more than willing to share with others

I've got the frame stripped, the gear lugs grounded off and am getting ready to remove the dings and scrapes (filing and filling!)

Please let me have your comments and suggestions

Thanks
    Misbehavious
    Attached Images Attached Images          

Man up
    Sep 2010
    Simple advice: Add parts. Ride.
    '08 GF Montare
    '10 Rockhopper SS
    Semper Fidelis
    02-10 SSGT of Marines
    (Most) always down for a ride in the Gville area

Ovaries on the Outside
    What is up with the dropouts? You have all the parts?

mtbr member
    Sep 2010
    orion_134: I like your ethos

umarth: I'm slowly getting the parts together, still lacking wheels, stem, saddle, chain, bb, chainset, seat post, seat post clamp, ahead headset

I got the dropout from http://www.mountainbikecomponents.co.uk/ who were amazingly helpful, especially considering I had no idea what the dropout looked like!