mtbr member

Which frame - 2017 - Pivot Les, Niner Air 9, or Specialized Epic HT with tensioner

As the title implies I am looking to buy a SS frame - or a frame that I can use SS.

I currently run a Soma Juice 29er with a belt, but that frame (XL) was 6 lbs, 6oz. so I'm looking for a carbon frame.

The Specialized is about 900 grams but cost $3,000. I would use a tensioner with it. Although the price is steep, this is my first choice due to the longer reach (L), and steeper seat tube/ slaker HT angle.

The Pivot is $2,500 and has sliding drop outs. I've had a Pivot FS before and looking at the geometry of their bikes, they always seem short in the TT length. I do not know the weight of this frame.

Niner is $2,000, plus about $140 for their own EBB. The frame is around 1,050 grams. I'm not sure how much the EBB weighs.

I have no experience with EBB at all, and I am a bit worried as I have heard the BB shell area can crack, although according to Niner, the frame is made for this type of configuration. The geometry seems ok, but not what I prefer.

Would like to know your take/ opinions however, PLEASE do not suggest a steel or Ti frame. I know all about steel and even make my own steel frames. This is strictly - What carbon frame?

Thanks,
    by Silentfoe
    I'm satisfied knowing that what I wear during my "day" job makes me more of a man than you'll ever be.

mtbr member
    Jan 2017
    Since you are listing a variety of costs, as well as a variety of chain tensioning styles, it seems like your biggest priority is a light, carbon frame with geometry that you like. Is that fair?

Going off that, it sounds like the Specialized is to your liking. For me though, I would prefer to have a specific SS frame rather than a tensioner, but maybe that is just me. Of course, going this route means you can pick ANY carbon mountain bike frame you want.