Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Finally made my first chainring

5K views 57 replies 17 participants last post by  ferday 
#1 ·
I have been riding my Raleigh XXIX for 5 years and have wanting to make a chainring for it. I have all of the tools, but it has been hard to get around to it while keeping up with the regular jobs. I finally got one done this week. Took it for a spin this morning.

It's a 33T to replace the one Truvativ ring that came on the bike originally.

See less See more
#7 ·
I don't have a gram scale. I put it on my postal scale and it weighs somewhere between 40-50 grams. I didn't put much effort into making it light. Just wanted to try out the tooth profile. It worked fine on a quick 6-mile ride this morning.

This one is machined out of 1/8" thick (3mm) 6061 material that I had on the shelf. I did it in two setups on my Fadal CNC mill. I ran the mounting holes, teeth and center bore in one operation and flipped it over to cut the step and ramp on the teeth on the other side. So it is very concentric: no runout. The teeth are machined to 2mm thickness. I will probably redo it with thicker teeth for the wider chain on my SS.

What I learned so far: I need more clearance to mount the ring easily without removing the crank arm. I was barely able to get it over the spider. So cutouts are necessary.

#9 ·
I don't have a gram scale. I put it on my postal scale and it weighs somewhere between 40-50 grams. I didn't put much effort into making it light. Just wanted to try out the tooth profile. It worked fine on a quick 6-mile ride this morning.