mtbr member
    Apr 2008

EBB newb questions

I am new to S and i think my chain might be a little bit loose. How do i know what a good chain tension is? Also i have a Truvativ GXP External Bearing EBB and have no idea how to adjust it. Can someone please help a newb out?

mtbr member
    an externall BB end a an EBB are two different things. does your frame have the eccentric shell? What type of EBB is it? pinch bolt, set screw or expanding wedge?
    Quote Originally Posted by thefuzzbl
    aluminium has a tendency to fail when you need it most. i.e. you end up with a bad day.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    wow this all sounds foreign to me. If by set screw you nean a bolt under the shell of the BB then yes it has a set screw.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by The Diesel
    wow this all sounds foreign to me. If by set screw you nean a bolt under the shell of the BB then yes it has a set screw.
    There should be 2 screws on the shell. If so, you have a "set screw" EBB. If they are actually 2 bolts and the shell is split from side to side, then you have a "pinch bolt" EBB.

Why don't you just tell us what the frame is?

Anyway, loosen whatever is keeping the BB tight, then rotate the whole EBB forward to remove excess chain slack. Just take the slack out though, you don't want to have the chain get tight anywhere as you turn the cranks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2004
    Oh yeah, EBB stands for Eccentric Bottom Bracket, and not external bottom bracket which is what your cranks use. Confusing? Yeah I can see that.

mtbr member
    Apr 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by Wish I Were Riding
    There should be 2 screws on the shell. If so, you have a "set screw" EBB. If they are actually 2 bolts and the shell is split from side to side, then you have a "pinch bolt" EBB.

Why don't you just tell us what the frame is?