zeebot

dh riser bar vs flat bar + bar ends???

I currently have the easton dh monkey lite carbon riser bar. 28" wide for those that don't know. I'm becoming a bit tired of clipping my hands and/or bars on trees while riding or at the very least struggling to fit between trees forcing me to drastically reduce my speed.

I'm debating getting a flat bar with some bar ends. any opinions on climbing efficiency with one vs the other?

which type of bar ends should i look in to? i've never used 'em before...

bike geek

Flat + bar ends

I'd been using a 26" wide Moots riser for the past few years for SS until just recently when I switched to a 22" wide flat bar w/ bar ends. I did my first long ride with them this weekend that included probably 3,000 feet of climbing and lots of tight twisty singletrack. I was LOVING the narrow bars for threading between trees/shrubs, and it felt like I was able to get more leverage by grabbing the bar ends that I ever was with the riser. It just felt better to grab on to the bar ends and pull hard than wrestle with a riser.

As for which bar ends to use, I think mine are 10+ year old Control Stix, but I don't remember. these are nice too.

zeebot
    Quote Originally Posted by tamjam
    I'd been using a 26" wide Moots riser for the past few years for SS until just recently when I switched to a 22" wide flat bar w/ bar ends. I did my first long ride with them this weekend that included probably 3,000 feet of climbing and lots of tight twisty singletrack. I was LOVING the narrow bars for threading between trees/shrubs, and it felt like I was able to get more leverage by grabbing the bar ends that I ever was with the riser. It just felt better to grab on to the bar ends and pull hard than wrestle with a riser.

As for which bar ends to use, I think mine are 10+ year old Control Stix, but I don't remember. these are nice too.