mtbr member
    Dec 2006

Designing custom belt-driven singlespeed

Hi all,

I've been thinking about building up a belt-driven singlespeed frame for a while now and have finally decided to do something about it.

I have spoken to several manufacturers about purchasing/modifying some sliding dropouts to allow them to split and let the belt through and am waiting to see how that progresses.

In the meantime, I am looking at the overall geometry of the bike and trying to work out how I want it set up. I have very little experience of off-road singlespeed riding and thought that some of you may have ideas or insights that could be useful.

Broadly, I am planning on quite an aggressive xc frame, not unlike the Scott Scale that I ride but made from titanium and set-up around around my old Pace RC31 rigid fork. Its intended use is for riding through the winter here in the UK on the sort of xc trails that I would ride on the Scott, the only difference being the amount of maintenance it would need after the ride. I may also use it for some marathon racing of things get very muddy!

On the Scott I use low, narrow, flat barswith bar ends. Does anyone think it would be better to use a riser or make the geometry less race oriented? Would this make things a bit easier on the singlespeed? I'd rather keep it low and fast if possible but I'm open to all suggestions!

Many thanks in advance,

Ed

mtbr member
    There's a bit more to building a belt-drive bike than splitting the rear dropout, so just make sure that whoever builds your frame has some experience with it.

I have modified a few bikes and found that some frames do not have enough clearance for belt drive and others are much too flexy.

When it works it's great.
    As little bike as possible, as silent as possible.
    Latitude: 5736' Highlands, Scotland

mtbr member
    Dec 2006
    That was quick!