Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jan 2012

Custom built SS...Who creates nice bikes

So...looks like I'll be starting a new job soon, which means I can put in motion the plans for a custom SS. Which frame builder will create a nice SS that "fits" me (I'm short with long legs and longer arms, think Kermit the Frog on a bike)? At the moment I'm not set on any frame material, but I think I would like to run a Lefty up front. I have no problem going too whoever I end up choosing too have the proper measurements made, and I would also like too make a few pieces (I'm a prototype machinist with access too machine tools) that end up on the bike. Any input on builders is greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    Just out of curiosity, what pieces are you wanting or planning to make yourself?

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    ^^ I was thinking rear drop outs/ adjusters, maybe the BB to integrate the proper angles that ties everything together (5-axis mill), proper clamps for the Lefty, and of corse a head badge (laser) to top it off. I can make more pieces if needed, but I don't weld.

mtbr member
    Perhaps you should get into the chainring and cog business
    Quote Originally Posted by Psycle151 View Post
    Friggin' coward. Give me a red chiclet instead of debating like a man. You don't deserve your green blocks.

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Co-owned a machine shop for 5 years...not sure I want too make parts for other people anymore, just some nice bits for myself. Sorry.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Not sure it these guys would work with you on the custom parts, but if I was able to afford a custom frame this would be my choice. Lugged 953 stainless with one of their rigid forks and stem. Their work is incredible.

Engin Cycles

mtbr member
    My only experience is with Siren...they will do at least semi-custom, not sure about full custom. I haven't ridden my frame yet but I can say it's a very nice looking frame.