mtbr member
    Nov 2007

Could out of round chainring or cog cause chain drops?

I'm pretty new to Single speeds so please excuse me if this has been covered before.
    So I recently built up a Single speed using a 30T MRP bling ring on XX1 crank and a 20 Tooth cog in the back.
    Today while out on a ride, towards the end of the ride, the chain started to drop. Probably happened about 4-5 times total. Each time I was pedaling through a somewhat bumpy section of trail on a slight incline.
    After I got home I looked at the bike and thought maybe the wheel had shifted forward while I was riding and so maybe the chain was loose.
    Anyway, to make a long story short, after messing around with it for a while, I realized that as I'm spinning the crank, there would be spots where the chain felt really loose and spots where it felt really tight. I guess either the bling ring or the cog must be out of round?
    The question I have is, if I'm pedaling and happen to hit a bump or dip while the chain is loose, would this cause the chain to drop?
    Any other possible reasons why this started happening towards the end of my ride?(I used the chainline math thread in the sticky to calculate my chainline already so I think my chainline is good).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Gotta pay to play
    Quote Originally Posted by pwu_1 View Post
    Anyway, to make a long story short, after messing around with it for a while, I realized that as I'm spinning the crank, there would be spots where the chain felt really loose and spots where it felt really tight.
    That is normal. The chain should be as taunt as possible but there were be points in your pedal stroke where the tension changes.

Any other possible reasons why this started happening towards the end of my ride?(I used the chainline math thread in the sticky to calculate my chainline already so I think my chainline is good).
    Any help would be greatly appreciated. TIA