mtbr member

Bonking ... not feelin' well Conditioning for SS

Is there any exercises or drills for SS riding? I felt my knees and lower abdomen trying to separate. We don't want any injuries riding SS. First thing I know is Listen to your body that's the reason I didn't ride for a week. I'm getting very sad.

Ahhh the pain....
    Really the best conditioning is to just do it...however, it sounds like you're trying to mash a big gear. I've been riding only SS for the last 3 years and my body has never felt more pain free. I did start out though riding a 32x21 (29r), then moved to 32x20, then to 32x19. I spent about 8-10 months on each before going to the next hardest.
    Your limits are both physical and mental. Suffering will help you find and overcome both.
    http://onegear-ray.blogspot.com/

mtbr member
    Put a bigger cog on the rear wheel and keep riding. Adjust gearing as fitness improves.

AZ
    banned
    Quote Originally Posted by j69nx View Post
    Is there any exercises or drills for SS riding? I felt my knees and lower abdomen trying to separate. We don't want any injuries riding SS. First thing I know is Listen to your body that's the reason I didn't ride for a week. I'm getting very sad.

Core work:

The Best Mountain Bike Leg & Core Exercise You've Never Seen

The best way to condition for SS is to ride more SS.

I'm your density
    These hurt so good (the exercises, not the guy's shorts):

Core Work

+1 on not pushing too big a gear right off the bat.

I'm not much of a gym person, but I'll work out on a stair climber if the weather's bad. Otherwise, when I'm not biking I like to hike steep trails with a backpack, varying my stride.
    "Two wrongs don't make a right, but three rights make a left."
    Ty Webb

undercover brother
    Quote Originally Posted by J.B. Weld View Post
    Put a bigger cog on the rear wheel and keep riding. Adjust gearing as fitness improves.