mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Clipless Pedals - A must for SS?

Hi all..... I'm a beginner, picked up a 2009 SS Rockhopper last month and am lovin it! Looking into some clipless pedals and was wondering are the benefits even greater on a SS? Would you consider them must for your SS?

At the moment, I'm considering the M540s or Candy SLs. Both seem like good pedals. Is one better than the other for a beginner?

Thanks.

human dehumidifier
    IMO, they'll definitely improve your riding experience.

I'd go with the M540s. I personally don't think the non-SPD pedals offer any benefit besides being unique. Others will disagree though, and hey, maybe unique is what you seek :-)
    When you get older, much of your hate comes from knowledge and experience, which is why really old people hate everyone

mtbr member
    Aug 2008
    SSing is all about being efficient.
    Flat pedals are inefficient when compared to toe clips or clipless or any other way you can attach your foot to your bike. Its two different pedal strokes being clipped in and being on flats in a pair of sandals.
    Not being attached to the pedals and trying to hammer up an uneven surface is an invitation to coming off the pedals.

I have a bike with spds and I have one with eggbeaters.
    I like the eggbeaters better.
    Last edited by 3snowboards; 08-03-2009 at 09:14 AM.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    A must?

Absolutely not... not anymore than 29" wheels, disc brakes, suspension forks or any other piece of equipment. The only must for SS is a degree of determination and passion in the rider.

That said, clipless pedals will (as already mentioned) make your pedalling more efficient. They will also prevent crashes caused by your feet coming off of the pedals in rocky terrain. You can pull up on the pedals, so that last tiny little bit of force needed to get over a rock that would otherwise stop your front tire cold can be found, even when your pedals are in the 'wrong' position.