mtbr member
    Jul 2008

Cheap SS Cranks?

Well I'm in the process of buying new cranks for my SS project. I already tried the classifieds and have found some possibilities, but am still looking. Does anyone have any extra SS cranks laying around that they want to sell for a reasonable price? I'm looking for a 32t chainring to go with it but I will take what I can get.

Thanks
    Matt

mtbr member
    Feb 2006
    personally, I would look at something like this.....................http://www.pricepoint.com/detail/161...nkset-2008.htm
    cheap, and stiff.
    yes, it is a pig, but you only have one gear to spin or stomp.

personally I run some V-Drive extremes, and while porcine, they have been durable and plenty stiff.
    EricN
    The flood of fixed gear bikes, small t-shirts, and womens jeans will saturate craigslist

You know, for kids
    FSA Powerstroke cranks - $30-40 + bottom bracket

On my SS I've been running TruVativ Hussefelt cranks for the past two years - $70 cranks and $35 bottom bracket. Not the lightest, but dang tough.
    disclaimer: I sell and repair bicycles

leashem
    I got a triple ring from Nashbar for $29 bucks and took the other rings off. I have been hammering that thing with no complaints. I do get some rear wheel flex but thats another story.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    I run the Shimano Alivio FC-M410 with a Blackspire Mono Veloce ring. You can get 'em both for about $69 + shipping at JensonUSA.

smell the saddle...
    New OEM Race Face XCs, bomb proof, fairly light and cheap at $48:

http://www.blueskycycling.com/view_p...eProductSearch

mtbr member
    Jul 2008
    Thanks for the help everyone, I will be looking around now

mtbr member
    Make sure you check ebay. I had no trouble finding a nice set of race face turbines for like $40
    read KNOBBY MEATS or be sadly ignorant of the mediocrity that is allowed to exist in the interwebs

i call it a kaiser blade
    May 2008
    truvativ and raceface make cheap ones.