Thread: CHEAP builds

mtbr member
    Sep 2008

CHEAP builds

Hello everyone. I'm new to the singlespeed game - as in, I haven't even tried it yet. I recently got a free GT Karakoram frame - an OLD one, still with integrated derailleur hanger. I've decided to build it up as a single speed. I'm going to try to do this on the cheap, with the idea that, if I enjoy singlespeed riding, I can begin the arduous upgrade process. If it's something that I just can't hack, I can at least use it as a beater around-town bike.

I have the frame (in decent condition - no bad dents, no rust), fork, and stem - all original. I will probably replace the stem (quill stem - what fun I'll have trying to find a new one) and the headset (feels like there's no grease anywhere NEAR the bearings), but my more immediate concern is for the basics. I've got plenty of tires, but I'm looking for cheap suggestions for wheels, cranks, and cogs (freewheel or conversion kit?).

Also, I'd love to know what you think of a dedicated singlespeed rear wheel versus a traditional rear wheel with a conversion kit. With a conversion kit, I'll have a chain tensioner, which I'll need with the vertical dropouts, and I'll be able to adjust the chainline relatively easily. If I were to get a dedicated rear wheel, I think I'd have to start with the White Industries hub and build up my own. It's not something I'd mind doing if I knew I was going to really get into it, but the WI option is a bit rich for my blood at the moment.

Anyways, whatever input you'd be willing to share will be welcome. Thanks in advance!

Edit: neither frame nor fork have disc brake mounts, so I'm limited to brakes that work with old-school mounting posts. I'm thinking about just putting on some cheapie Forte brakes and levers, but I'm waaaaay open to suggestions.

MattSavage
    Ebay, ebay, ebay....

I just built up a NOS Bianchi WUSS frame with some spare parts and very minimal Ebay face time. I think I'm in $200 bucks.