mtbr member
    Jul 2011

Chain tensioner question

I'm new to single speeding and currently looking for a quick way to make my carbon Highball a part time SS, basically the most simplest way. The two options I'm looking at is the Origin 8 Pulsion dual wheel derailleur or a single arm Surley tensioner. From others experiences does one perform better than the other?

undercover brother
    Quote Originally Posted by bassn View Post
    I'm new to single speeding and currently looking for a quick way to make my carbon Highball a part time SS, basically the most simplest way. The two options I'm looking at is the Origin 8 Pulsion dual wheel derailleur or a single arm Surley tensioner. From others experiences does one perform better than the other?
    The Surly one works splendidly.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by tangaroo View Post
    The Surly one works splendidly.
    as long as you keep a re-usable zip tie around in case it decides to de-spring itself.

mtbr member
    I use a Bachelor Gusset fixed tensioner. It works great.

29er and 26er
    Mar 2012
    Quote Originally Posted by OneBadWagon View Post
    as long as you keep a re-usable zip tie around in case it decides to de-spring itself.
    Or tighten it properly as per the instructions: http://surlybikes.com/uploads/downlo...leatorInfo.pdf

Refer to step 11:

Tension the Singleator spring by slipping an 18mm cone wrench onto the wrench flats of the pivot bushing and tension as follows: PUSHING
    DOWN spring, turn CLOCKWISE. PUSHING UP spring, turn COUNTERCLOCKWISE. If you do it wrong, you’re going to ruin the spring. Once you
    have adequate tension, fully tighten the pivot bolt

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Quote Originally Posted by p08757 View Post
    Or tighten it properly as per the instructions: http://surlybikes.com/uploads/downlo...leatorInfo.pdf

Refer to step 11: