mtbr member

chain tension ????

I am new to the SS world. I am riding a Jericho with a EBB. I am running 2:1 ratio. How tight should the chain be? This may sound like a simple stupid question but hey I just want to make certain I get my new ride dialed in.

Thanks

mtbr member
    You should be able to deflect it about 1/2" at the middle of the span between the front and rear rings. Realize that with most setups you will have some tighter and looser spots, if that is your case some compromise is in order. I look at it like a chainsaw chain...too tight and it kills RPMs :-D

mtbr member
    thanks for the tip. Also, I am using a SRAM PC59 chain on a 34 tooth Suffering and 17tooth Chris King cog. What chain would you recommend? Also, being that there is a lot more torgue involved with SSing, would it be safe to say that chains don't last as long on SS's? How often do you replace your chain?

Ebo
    mtbr member
    Dec 2003
    I like the PC58 chain which is a bit stronger than the 9spd PC59.

SlowJoe
    Try the KMC 610 if you are looking for a heavy duty chain.

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by stoom
    thanks for the tip. Also, I am using a SRAM PC59 chain on a 34 tooth Suffering and 17tooth Chris King cog. What chain would you recommend? Also, being that there is a lot more torgue involved with SSing, would it be safe to say that chains don't last as long on SS's? How often do you replace your chain?
    I would stay away from the 9 speed chains. Once the manufacturers started making 9 speed gearing, the chains became thinner (not as wide.) Most any 8 speed chain should be fine, but a lot of it depends on conditions and how often you care for it.
    Always preach the Gospel; even if you need to use words.

mtbr member

thanks