mtbr member
    Apr 2009

Chain Drop Problem

I am new to single speeding so I need some help on this. First 2 rides were awesome. My ride today dropped the chain twice. The first time I was realling mashing the cranks on a steep technical climb and about went over the handlebars when the chain dropped off. The second time I was basically spinning up a slight incline. About mile 3 and 5 on a short 9 mile ride.

My bike is a 2010 Stumpjumper single speed. Stock 32-20. It has the eccentric bottom bracket.

What would be causing this?

Dive Bomber
    Your chain might to loose, you have tighten a little.

If your tension is right your pedaling will goes very smooth mashing or spinning high rpm.

I suggest use tensioner - mine is horizontal drop-out but use tensioner for chain safety thing.

mtbr member
    Apr 2010
    I have a 2010 Specialized Rockhopper SS and it too has an EBB.....it is a very similar bike to yours and I have never dropped the chain!! It sounds to me like your chain is waaaay too loose. Use that awesomely designed clamshell EBB that specialized gave your rockhopper and tighten up that chain before you really hurt yourself due to the chain drop issue!!

meatier showers
    Could be a bad chainline or a bent tooth on ring or cog, too. But based on how infrequently this is happening, my first suspicion would be chain tension too loose. But don't over tighten... if it's tight, it's too tight.

--sParty
    disciplesofdirt.org
    Remember who
    you wanted to be.

Quote Originally Posted by riverrat
    Jaybo... quit *****ing and move to Texas

Fixed and single.
    +1 on chainline.

-M
    "Those are some good humans."

mtbr member
    Mar 2004