Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Mar 2013

CF fork for SS...

I have the SS Salsa EM and am very happy with it. Did upgrade the brakes to XT and swapped to Renthal chainring and Surly cogs. Now considering a CF fork as an upgrade. I have searched and found comments mostly on the Niner fork but not so much on the Whiskey or others...

Can folks share their experiences with the various CF forks on a SS please?

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    My opinion--unless you're building up a race rig, don't spend that much $$ on a CF fork. It does lighten up the front end and some forks have tiny bit better dampening than the stock EM fork, but bang for buck is very low. Get a better wheelset instead.

If you want more cush up front, get Knards. I just got Knarded up front and the thing's on hit.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    I've been using a Niner CF for 18 months and could be happier. Not flexy, very well made and its very point and shoot. The others I investigated leading up purchasing didn't seem as good. Just MHO, YMMV.

mtbr member
    The niner forks are pretty money, but you'd definitely get more bang for your buck with a nice tubeless wheelset. I do think the dampening of the carbon forks is a *lot* better but I've only compared it to the last 2 generations of karate monkey fork.

At the end of the day I decided to go with a custom steel fork (for $100 less than the niner ) but I did pick up one of these for a song that has been pretty nice On-One Carbon Fork
    Yeah I only carry cans cause I'm a weight weenie.

mtbr member
    Apr 2013
    ^^^
    I've been running tubeless so long I forget what it was like to run tubes. That being said, while the Niner forks are just a bit more that other CF forks, they are well worth the cost. I'm all about you get what you pay for. I'm so happy with my Niner fork someone will have to go a long ways to get me to switch.

mtbr member
    Jun 2010