mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Bottom Bracket Compatibility Issue...

Hello. Thanks in advance for reading.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to putting together a bike. Needless to say, I'm doing it, and in a big way. Here's my problem.

I bought a Niner Air 9 Carbon frame which came with a Bio-Centric bottom bracket. I actually thought it WAS the bottom bracket, but it seems that it's just an adjustable component to the bottom bracket shell.

I also bought a Rotor 3D MTB crankset. It didn't come with a bottom bracket, either.

I now am faced with research. I've uncovered that there are many differing standards.

So, my question is: exactly what type of bottom bracket am I looking for? And how do you determine which bottom bracket is ultimately compatible with my setup? With an exact standard, I can figure out which bottom bracket I ultimately will buy.

Sorry if these questions seem dense. Thanks again for any help!

Yo.
    Rotor does make their own bottom brackets, as you likely know. The BB1 or SABB are the ones that I think are intended to go with the 3D cranks, but any "regular" Shimano-Hollowtech II-type external bearing BB (think Race Face, Enduro, Hope, Chris King, etc. in addition to Shimano) should fit the bill, provided they are for MTB rather than road cranksets.

HTH.
    Quote Originally Posted by JonathanGennick View Post
    I am a poser. But forums.poser.com doesn't seem to exist, so I come here instead.

One Gear
    Enduro As long as you need an entire BB, start with the Enduro. They have great seals and the bearings last a long time. I have 3 different sets all going strong. Don't get the Race Face, they're junk.

Good luck.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    Thanks for the replies. Now, how did you know these particular bottom brackets would fit my particular setup? I want to learn so I can figure it all out myself for next time. Thanks again!

mtbr member
    I like King BB's.

SPP
    Rigid.

Riding rigid
    Mar 2007