Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2009

Best option for achieving perfect chain tension

OK, so I'm new to this SS thing (and this forum) but I'm already converted! I've resurrected my old Orange C16 with a DMR kit, surly cog and a few new shiny bits. I love it.

Thing is I'm now thinking of building a new SS and can't decide which is the best way to go to achieve that perfect chain tension. There seems to be so many options all with pros and cons. I'm interested to see what the rest of you think. These are the options as I see it so far......

1. Vertical dropouts with chain tensioner. Pros - quick and easy. Cons - looks like a bodge, heavy, awkward to remove wheel.

2. Vertical dropouts with an eccentric rear hub. Pros - light, easy wheel removal. Cons - Not sure, brake adjustment maybe?

3. Vertical dropouts with an eccentric bottom bracket. Pros - no adjustments required to rear brakes when changing chain tension, easy wheel removal. Cons - heavy, limited choice of frames?

4. Horizontal dropouts. Pros - simple tension adjustment. Cons - awkward to remove wheel, brakes need adjusting when you move the wheel in the dropouts (except on some frames that have sliding caliper mounts etc).

5. Vertical dropouts with magic gear. Pros - once sorted it's fit and forget. Cons - limited gear ratio choice, might not work on some frames, no way of adjusting tension once the chain stretches.

6. Vertical dropouts with ghost ring. Pros - light and simple. Cons - lets face it, it just looks bloody silly.

I'm sure I've missed some but that should be enough to start the discussion.......

MONKEYMAN
    This, from my perspective is the most flexible solution since it is not bike/frame dependent.

Put in on any bike you want to. On as many DIFFERENT bikes that you want to. You can get different adapters for different size drops too. All the questions about chain stretch and adjustment go away because setting the tension on this hub is bonehead simple!