808+909 = Party Good Time

Anyone lugging a child seat around on SS?

About to move it over to my SS, sell my geared bike and see no issues, just thought I'd see what others are doing.

mtbr member
    think about the poor buckaroo's neck.... when you are out of the saddle humping it up a hill, doodles is getting whipped side to side. this can cause serious damage, especially if they are asleep. I believe New York has a law against riding with sleeperDoodles in the bike seat.

Here we go again...

for the record she flippin loves the bike seat and I reduce all the swaying to a minimum not that she cares, she loves that too... and bumps... and hills... and gutters... and whatever else. Kids are tough, we're just all too freakin paranoid.

I've been riding the geared bike in one gear for 3 months so I have assessed all that part already. Was just wondering if anyone else was doing it. And as for citites having laws, often they are brought about by paranoia anyhow.

if we are going to have the same stupid moral debate that child seat threads always lead too then please close this thread cos it's up there with 'will carbon break?'... boring...

a.k.a Slacker
    Jan 2006
    Carrying a kid + singlespeed, isn't that like maSSochist X2?

I commend you for trying, man I'm a beginner and I'm dying trying to haul my fat butt up hills.

mtbr member
    The whole reason I got a SS was to tow a baby trailer.

Child seats on the bike: Not really a fan, more so because it screws up the center of gravity and isn't that practical.

Baby trailer: Independent linkage, doesn't affect the CoG, kid is wrapped in an Aluminum frame, I can pack it with toys, books and snacks and she's good in there for a couple of hours.

Gear the SS correctly and towing is easy.

Surprise benefit of getting the SS: It's also a blast to just take out and ride and my winter riding has increased exponentially from last year becasue post ride maintenance is so freaking simple and quick.

Dorkimus Prime