Page 1 of 30 1 2 3 4 5 11 ... LastLast
    mtbr member
    Apr 2011

Anyone have any experience with the Gravity G29 SS?

Was looking at this bike for $350 doesn't seem too bad, what do you guys think? I'm cross-shopping this and the Dawes BullsEye 29er.

I'm open to other suggestions as well.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Anyone have any experience with the Gravity G29 SS?-g29_orange_2100.jpg  

Apr 2007
    Redline Monocog from your LBS. Or GT Peace.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Anyone else?

mtbr member
    Sep 2011

On the way!

We'll find out soon enough -- I just placed an order for a 21" orange. This is my first bike purchase since about 1990 (when I was 15 years old). I still ride that Raleigh Hybrid (Eclipse CX) but it was definitely time for something new. Clearly I'm a noob, so I won't be able to give you any qualified comparisons, but I'll try to take several pics and post my experiences.

I decided on the g29 over the Dawes for a few of reasons:
    • I'll be using the bike for mostly paved surfaces, with maybe some light offroad. I don't need the strength or flexibility of steel. I'd rather have the lightness of aluminum. (I'll weigh the fully built bike for comparisons)
    • I have a huge hard-on for disc brakes (well, maybe not -huge-, but... you know...). I know that they're very entry level models, but I don't care. I admit that it's more about cosmetics & the cool factor than the performance.
    • They had it in that bright-ass orange in my size. I was going to be stuck with black if I got the Deadeye, which isn't really my thing.
    • There aren't any other reports of the SS G29er here yet. I'm hoping to be able to be one of the first to try it out.

I'll post more in a few days when it arrives.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011

17.5" - Orange - on the way

Yep, it's got the specs I wanted.

Converting to urban warrior.

Will change out front chainring for 46 tooth for better gearing.