Mountain Bike Reviews Forum banner

Ahoy! V-brake holdouts!

5K views 29 replies 25 participants last post by  G-reg 
#1 ·
It's official...you can no longer use these excuses for still using this decayed method of bringing your bike to a halt...
1. If they're still good enough for the pro's to use....
2. The pro's are weight concious more than anyone....so v-brakes are the call...

these are from Sundays NORBA National Mountain Bike Series in Waco, Texas.

*zip....flame suit on....

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Padre said:
It's official...you can no longer use these excuses for still using this decayed method of bringing your bike to a halt...
2. The pro's are weight concious more than anyone....so v-brakes are the call...*zip....flame suit on....
No, but I can still use:

1.) I'm just a poor college student, and what I got works....for now.

2.) Just like Arrogant B@stard Ale, It's Not Too Expensive, You're Too Cheap

3.) I like the squeal after a water crossing

:D

#5 · (Edited)
Man, if the pro's are using it, I'm buying it! Of course this season I'm spending all of my money on steroids and blood doping stuff, so I can't afford discs. Sigh. Maybe next year. And since I divorced my wife & abandoned my kids to race, I may not have as much disposable income next year, what with the alimony & child support.

I guess these V-brakes are going to be making mine a life not worth living for the foreseeable future. I hope that the pro's start jumping out of tall buildings soon so that I can end all of this suffering!

#6 ·
skinny-tire said:
Does that mean I should also use lace up shoes and half finger gloves?
Get with the times man. Can't you see they've moved on to cut out knuckles. That's just bad-ass man. Okay I hope this is not the case, but by the looks from those pics, they could've used a road bike and saved a lot of grams.

#7 ·
skinny-tire said:
Does that mean I should also use lace up shoes and half finger gloves? And what about the visor vs no visor